Ain’t No Man Can Shake My Tree

by Shawn Allen

Ain’t no man can shake my tree.
No man gonna bother me.
Think I’m lyin’?
Don’t know me,
‘Cause ain’t no man can shake my tree.

Got fools drivin’ down my street,
Clumsy bastards stomp my feet.
Folks is fightin’ in the hall,
Angry voices thru the wall.

Guvmint can’t get nuthin’ done
‘Cept fussin’ over what’s been done.
Dude’s pants hangin’ round his knees,
can’t tell if that one’s ‘her’ or ‘he.’

But ain’t no man can shake my tree.
No man gonna bother me.
Think I’m lyin’?
Don’t know me,
‘Cause ain’t no man can shake my tree.

I grabbed up some of my stuff.
Chose to live a little rough.
Climbed up here among the leaves
Where I do jus’ what I please.

Got a blanket keeps me warm,
Got the wind to keep me calm,
Got some food, I got a book –
Beyond that, I don’t give a fuck.

‘Cause ain’t no man can shake my tree.
No man gonna bother me.
Think I’m lyin’?
Don’t know me,
There ain’t no man can shake my tree.

02-26-2014
(c) Shawn D. Allen

