The Wall

by Shawn Allen

 

Patent Decor white small bubbles no.2873

The Wall stands
As it has always stood
As it will always stand
Inches from my face
Blocking all vision
Blankly staring back
There is no moving through the Wall
No crack or flaw to exploit
There is no going around the Wall
No movement is possible
The Wall has no words
It will not negotiate or bargain
I stand
As I have always stood
As I will ever stand
Inches from the Wall
Arms at my sides
Legs locked
In timeless numbness
That turns to searing pain
When the Wall allows me to leave
And I show it nothing
As I walk away
I tell myself that it can not win
That I will be unbroken
This day may belong to the Wall
But someday
Someday
Now the Wall
So many years in the past
Sometimes rises before my eyes
I cannot move past it
I cannot forgive
And the Wall stands
As it has always stood
As it will always stand
Inches from my face
Blocking passage
Voicelessly laughing

08-91-2014

